Some people think that international car-free days are effective way of reducing air pollution. Others think there are some other ways.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years global warming has reached unprecedented level due to pollution and one of the prime reason for so is proliferation in number of cars. People have opposing views on having international car-free days and that it would help in reducing the release of hazardous gases in atmosphere. In this essay, we will look into both sides of the view and I will express why I believe that having car-free day is not a viable solution for reduction of atmospheric pollution.

To begin with, today all household have at least one car. To illustrate, the number of cars in past decade has quadruple in comparison to past decade and as a result of which there have been surge in the carbon-dioxide emission levels. So, having a global day where individuals are not using car for will curb the pollution level. For example, Delhi the national capital of India as rule in form of "odd-even" number system where on specific day of week only car with odd numbers are allowed on road and rest of the days even as an alternate rotation pattern. Such initiatives are welcomed as they put check on people to use less private vehicles and more public transport.

On the other hand, focusing on one part of the problem will not have lasting impact for fight against the pollution. For instance, chemical manufacturers, coal and steel industries, bio-hazard companies release more harmful and dangerous gases into environment. The wastage released by organizations is much more lethal and damaging to earth's climate. I believe tackling this issue is of paramount importance cause many time these industries are very nearer to mega cities and cause destruction of life's. Instead, more concentrated effort should be made to use renewable resources instead of old fossil fuels which are already available in limited quantity.

In conclusion, controlling atmospheric pollution by global car-free days is good initiative but it does not have much impact. Instead, I opine keeping huge industries in check by proper wastage management is the way forward.