Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Co-education has been a topic of debate since time immemorial. While few people believe that separate schools for boys and girls is better, some argue that combined schooling has more merits. However we will discuss both views.

The proponents of separate schools, often argue that, girls outshine boys in studies mostly. This could develop inferior thoughts in the minds of male students. For instance, it has almost turned out to be a custom in India, that only girls could secure top most rank in state exams. Furthermore, when it comes to co-curricular activities like sports, boys have the upper hand and female pupils tend to feel pessimistic over their skills in sporting. Such is the case in most countries and the right balance can only be achieved by gender based institutions.

Conversely, social skills which is crucial for a person's life is nurtured only in co-educated schooling system. In real life, for example, people graduated from either boy or girl schools, find it extremely hard to collaborate with their bosses. Not to mention, both genders lean to respect and value the feelings of each other only in mixed schools. This is being supported by a recent research, where, the dominating behavior of pupils from combined schools was less compared to the students from separate institutions.

On recapitulating, it appears that separate schools only create differences between genders, whereas mixed schools aids students to socialize with the community. Needless to remind the fact that men and women together form a society. Hence, I stand by the side of mixed schools.