Some people think that to lead a successful life a university degree is important. Others believe that this is no longer true nowadays. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

In today's world there is a lot of competition and some believe that is easier to step ahead of others with a university degree, but in reality there is a scarcity of people with talent. I personally believe that it is the talent that is more important than the degree. Let us see both the aspects.

Let us first take the example of university graduates or Ivy graduates. Having a degree can definitely land you a job in MNCs very easily or with minimal struggle as compared to someone who doesn't hold a degree. People with degrees are perceived to be smarter than the other lot. Though it appears a lot easier, in reality, it may not be true. As a degree does not guarantee you the growth that would be expected. The growth in an organization would depend a lot on how an individual proves himself during his tenure at any company. For example: An engineering graduate gets campus recruited in one of the MNCs, proves himself over the years and also gets promoted as per the regular cycle. But there comes a point where his growth gets stagnant as the individual has done nothing beyond his job role description.

Now, let us consider an individual with immense knowledge on technology, self-learner, has a plethora of soft skills right from presentation to communication to leadership. He would face initial rejection from any company because there is no validation. But in today's world the interviewers are not just looking for the textbookish knowledge but someone who can demonstrate that he can do MORE. Most of these students are university drop out by choice. They have many innovative ideas which is desired today. Example: Bill Gates, Steve Jobs, Mark Zuckerberg, all of them are college drop-outs but billionaires in reality.

MNCs choose innovators over executors, smart workers over hard workers. Companies today need faster, better and innovative solutions to run their businesses. Hence In my personal experience, an individual who has a strategic mindset as against someone with cent per cent score is likely to be more successful in reality and to have that a university degree is not important. It is definitely good to have.