Some people think that not all criminals should be kept in prison. Some criminals should do unpaid work to help other people in the community. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

there are many criminals who commit crime because it's in their nature, they have grown up in a society that allows or think that certain crimes that are committed are to show off their strength or teach the other a lesson. However, there are many who commit a crime under certain pressure or to defend themselves. hence such criminals should be given a chance to prove their worth.

Most of the countries allow paroles to criminals, that allows them to step out of prison and do something good for themselves. These are chosen based on their attitude and their behaviour inside the cell. prisoners who demonstrate good behaviour, if they are given a chance to help their society, then they would accept it with both hands as they are situational criminals. Imagine a teacher is punished for a theft, there would be a reason he/she must have done that, but if the same person is asked to teach other prisoners while serving his/her sentence then it is beneficial to both the parties. You have more people who get educated and at the sametime the time is served.

The idea of letting criminals out can also backfire in case of hardcore criminals or with people who have the habbit of decieving others. hence the officials need to be very careful in letting out the criminals.