Some people think the modern technology is making people more sociable, while others think it is making them less sociable. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some people believe that advanced technology enables people to interact more with others while some think that it prevents us from engaging. The impact of advancement in technology on modern life is unmeasurable. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my opinion.

On the one hand, modern technology has blessed us with advanced communication tools that have simplified the way people communicate and I agree. It includes electronic mails, fax, smartphones, social networking applications, internet, etc. while sitting in the comfort of their home one can interact with people around the globe using smart gadgets and internet rather than engaging with only friends and family locally as was the practice in old days. Furthermore, it allows making new friends and connects with people sharing the same interests. For instance, I joined a facebook group for IELTS preparation that had members from around the world, who shared knowledge and helped each other to achieve their goal. Moreover, it is now easier to stay in contact with family and friends as compared to the past through social networking applications. Whenever I wish, I can call my parents overseas using video calling application like skype in mobile.

On the other hand, some people believe that modern technology has made us isolated. As people spend more time in the virtual world so they are disconnected from the real world, as a result, they avoid going out in parks and local clubs to meet people. In a recent study on the impact of technology on adult psychology, it was revealed that in spite of being entertained and less bored, majority of people were found depressed due to lack of face to face interaction with people. Technological advancement though keeps us entertained and open to the world yet ironically keep us less attentive to people closest to us.

In conclusion, despite people having a different opinion, I believe that advancement in technology has provided us with alternate and more quicker ways of being social and enabled us to engage with people both locally and globally.