Some people think the modern technology is making people more sociable, while others think it is making them less sociable. Discuss both views and give your opinion

With cutting-edge invention in technology, especially in social media, according to some people, as a human being, we are more connected than ever while others argue that it is making people more anti-social. In my opinion, although technology has detrimental impact on real world social skills to a certain extent but the effectiveness of any tool lies in its users and the way they exploit it.

To begin with, technology has completely changed the face of communication and the way we connect to over loved ones. It definitely has turned the world in to a global village where establishing a connection is just a fingertip away. For example, popularity of family groups on WhatsApp is clear evidence that how much it has assisted in connecting to our relatives. In addition, platform, such as Facebook, enables user to create community groups of like-minder people who can share the ideas and take some concrete actions on real social issues. Thus, the role of science and technologies in connecting people from all over the world is crystal clear.

However, it has some downsides as well due to its excessive utilization. Many youths spend most of their time on social networking websites, which not only disconnect them from the real world but also make them more lethargic. For example, 70% of college graduates lacks social and communication skills when they apply for their first job. Moreover, due to obsession with virtual friends, rather than forming meaningful and healthy bonds with surrounding people, people believe in temporary and meaningless relationships. Consequently, we are dealing with increasing number of insensitive and intolerance individuals.

In Conclusion, technology is a double-edged sword. So it is up to people how much they should rely on it for socialization. If it is effectively utilized, it is a blessing else it just a curse for mankind.