Some people think that people who do physical work should be paid as same as the people who have a high-level degree. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by a significant number of individuals that labour jobs and educated jobs should be considered in terms of salary. I completely disagree and believe that the difference will motivate people to have education and society will not respect the education system if both get equal pay.

To begin with, people will not respect the education system if both labour and educated people are paid with the same salary. Mostly uneducated people do physical work to earn money for living, if they are also provided with same wages as education degree holders are provided, people will not spend time in getting educated as the majority of the youth take education for better future prospects and high earning options. Therefore, there will be no difference in educated and uneducated youths as both will have access to all facilities because of the same salary. Thus salary discrimination is a must to create the importance of education in society.

At the same time, this indifference in salary structure would reduce the value of education in the society, which leads to an increase in illiteracy rate and in the number of undeveloped countries both economically and technologically. This would be because of the fact of equally paid wages that people would be less interested in studying complex subjects such as Mathematics, Statistics and Linguistic studies and end up learning skills which require less intellectual skills and more physical power. For instance, a recent study by World Education Services clearly showed that 90% of the students opt for masters degree to earn telephone digit salaries and only 10% of students do it for their personal interest. Therefore, it is quite obvious that this system would prove to be a big discouragement to higher studies and will pave the way to the scarcity of doctors and engineers in society.

In conclusion, I completely disagree because of the reasons mentioned in the above paragraphs and believe that this difference will create more awareness of acquiring education in a civilized society.