Some people think that a person improves their intellectual skills

more when doing group activities. To what extent do you agree? Use

specific details and examples to explain your view.

In today's competitive world, every individual is supposed to possess many personality traits in order to be successful. Among various qualities, cognitive skills are of the utmost importance. Some people opine that group activities play a very vital role in the improvement of such skills whereas others hold the notion that team effort doesn't play a much significant part in the development. I am a strong advocate of the former point of view that group activities do increase mental abilities. In this essay, I will discuss both viewpoints.

Group activities strengthen the intellectual skill in many ways. First and foremost, by participating in group activities, ability to think and understand others point of view increases. For instance, by doing group studies, if an individual is facing an issue on some topic, peer knowledge can help to refine understanding of concepts. Similarly, while studying together, the individual tries to understand other group member doubt as well. Such actions eventually increase logical skill. Group studies are already practised in schools in many countries. For example, in South Korea, secondary school timings are from 8:00 A.M. to 6 P.M. In these institutions, a major portion of the time is specified for group studies, and the Korean education system is considered best in the world. Moreover, team games require players to perform a diverse range of rapid mental calculations, which clearly improves rational abilities.

On the other hand, some people believe that by doing self-activities like independent studies intellectual skills can develop. However, in my opinion, self-study confines a person to just individual ideas. This wouldn't improve one’s knowledgeable ability like group activities do.

To recapitulate, it is undebatable to mention that group activities improve intellectual skill to a wider extent. In my point of view, the government should majorly involve group activities in a school curriculum, so that kids can start improving skills from their learning phase itself.