Some people think that a person improves their intellectual skills more when doing group activities.To what extent do you agree? Use specific details and examples to explain your view.

Team work has its paramount importance in several aspects of life. As per the stated notion, it is argued that performing task in groups enhances intellectual development of an individual. It is agreed that cognitive abilities of a person could be improved by working in a team. This essay will discuss the above point along with relevant examples followed by a reasoned conclusion.

To begin with, working in a team fosters the thinking ability of an individual. To explain this further, people performing in groups tend to think more effectively and discuss their views to achieve their goal. Also, this would help in widening horizons of knowledge by sharing ideas with each other. Not only this, their creative power is also enhanced by planning strategies altogether in a group discussion. They use their imaginative power to accomplish their goals. One good illustration of this is team games in which players are more likely to think in accordance with team members to win and compete. Consequently, their imaginative and cognitive skills get improved by imbibing others ideas and imaginations. What is more, group work requires people skill wherein each individual have unique abilities. By learning and acquiring skills from others, people gain confidence. They tend to develop their mental abilities more as they co-ordinate with each other. For instance, several organizations have gained success by working collaboratively. People become more responsible and inter-dependent where they have to discuss and participate as a whole within a team. In addition, team management helps in building other necessary skills as well.

In conclusion, collaborative work has positively affected the performance of an individual by improving cognitive and mental abilities.