some people think that plastic shopping bags should be prohibited because they are one of the major pollutants of both land and water around the world. I completely agree, but I think there are other measures that can be taken before putting a complete ban in place.

Plastic bags are the most dangerous pollutant in this world. When these plastic bags are discarded from our homes are dumped in to landfill sites and oceans create catastrophic disaster for every living being on earth. Even though the government bans the plastic bag production but still they are being circulated illegally. In the following essay, I will illustrate other measures which will reduce the usage of plastic bags.

Firstly, people's behaviour of using the plastic bags should be changed, by organizing meeting at public places in order to create awareness about the irreversible damage when they are dumped into land fill sites. Additionally, cash backs should be provided at shops for customer who bring their cotton bags, this will encourage more people deter plastic bags. For instance, one nearby retail outlet, introduced 1 percent cash back to all their customer who bring cotton bags, within 3 months around 90 percent of their customers adopted to use cloth bags for shopping.

Secondly, some illegal plastic bag manufacturers sell their products to all shops very secretly. The government should punish companies who produce plastic bags beyond allowable microns prescribed by the safety authority. For example, the recent raid conducted at the very famous hotel chain found that, the plastic boxes could potential threat for people who consume and store foods.

Finally, the government should introduce new mechanism to recycle the discarded plastic bags into other reusable products which are less harm full for the atmosphere. Countries like Sweden has already generated electricity from the plastic waste. Such measure is being considered as highly recommended to reduce the space it occupies in the land fill sites and suffice the needs of electricity for people.

In conclusion, it is our responsibility to preserve our planet for our future generation. The discarded plastics bags are not bio-degradable would have cascading impact to all living beings. Thus, it has been considered that consumer's behaviour and government's method of recycling are vital measures which bring down impacts to a great extent.