Today people spend more time travelling to work than before. Some people suggest employers should allow employees to do some work home. Do you think that advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, some employees spend enormous travelling time to reach their organisations to work. In many cases people get tired due to hectic traffic and air pollution, which affects their productivity in leaps and bounds. When there is any emergency situations, staff feel great pain to reach their office and it also creates fear among family members how they will reach home safely. In such conditions, corporate organisations provide work from home option to their employees, which aids them to continue their without any interruption. In the following passage, I will explain both the sides of this ongoing trend.

During hectic weather conditions it is tedious for employees to come to office and continue day-to-day operations. In such circumstances, work from home option can be used to provide constant support without compromising their safety. For instance, during recent flood in Chennai, many employers requested their staff to work from home, so that their regular routines are not halted. Moreover, when employee’s dependants are unwell, they can concentrate both work and health of their family members. In addition, it also helps employers to save huge operating cost. Thus, it is believed, work from home culture give great flexibility to both firms and to their staffs.

When employees do work from home they can be easily distracted and their productivity is severely impacted. Furthermore, if there is any technical glitch then it will be tough for them to work efficiently. Additionally, there are chances for some employees bit able to attend offline meeting which can create miscommunication among team members. Therefore, it is assumed, work from home option impacts the productivity of any organisation in various ways.

To sum up, as proverb says, “work is worship”. Employers require their regular work routines to continue during all unexpected situations, then work from home option provides help their cause in many ways. Considering the above facets positives outweighs negatives in all aspects.