Some people think that to reduce traffic and pollution, the government should increase tax on petrol (gasoline). Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, the increased taxation on vehicle fuel has been gaining a great deal of attention throughout the world as an approach to resolve the burning issue of pollution as well as congestion at roads. Most importantly, the issue has been a bone of contention among the critics either it really helps to sort out the bottlenecks as well as to answer the environmental crisis. While some experts believe that imposing higher taxation on fuel is the ultimate key to resolve, however, I would contend that it will create more troubles than troubleshooting the issue of congestion as well as pollution.

To begin with, it is said that once the taxation is raised, people will start spending wisely on fuel and thus the load on petrol or gasoline will be more optimized. Therefore, the burden on environment will be reduced and the unnecessary vehicle movement will be declined. Moreover, the awareness of the mass people will be raised and they will start using the public transport or communal car-pooling to commute. Additionally, they will develop the habit of walking for short distance travel. Hence, the pressure on fuel will be rational and the people will be more reasonable to the mother nature. In the developed countries, for example, in Canada, higher taxation has been added on vehicle purchase as well as fuel. This is ultimately helping them to reduce the congestion as well as the pollution more practically.

Conversely, the impact on the raising the fuel price will make the mass people a hard-hit as the fare will go up in majority of the unregulated countries. Hence, the taxation will make the general commuter to suffer a lot as they will ultimately pay from their own pocket to avail transport. Furthermore, even if the usage of personal transport is compromised somewhat in response to heavy duty, the number of available public transport is limited and the increased demand will not be well-handled by the existing number of public vehicle. Most importantly, reducing the usage cannot be the solution to the congestion and pollution in a high-moving world of economy.

All things considered, the issue pollution and congestion cannot be resolved by simply imposing high taxes, rather it will create additional problems. I personally believe world leaders should not focus strictly on imposing taxes as the disadvantages outweigh the benefits.