Some people think that teenagers should follow what the old people say whereas some believe that it is good for teenage people to challenge what old people say. Discuss both opinions and give your opinion.

Many traditions and experiences are transferred to the next generation through the previous generation. The youth avoid many failures by practicing what their parents and elderlies say, but whether they have to absolutely walk the talks of the previous generations is a controversial topic in many societies. Despite I agree that holding of traditions is dependent on doing what older people say, I disagree that youngsters have to follow previous generations blindly. In this essay, both views of the pros and foes of listening to adults will be discussed.

One can avoid many failures by looking at other’s failure especially older people. This is also how the traditions and cultures stay alive in societies. Many researchers at universities following some standards which have been made by their precedent to avoid unwanted failures. One can try to touch a poisonous snake without listening to his parents warnings and what is the result? The answer is death due to the snake’s bite. This was a simple example to show that listening to aged people and adults is important. Therefore, in order to avoid serious and fatal dangers is good to follow what adults say.

On the other hand, there are many traditions which are out-dated or are absolutely wrong and have to be changed. An example of this is that in many countries marriage with a teenage girl was normal. Is it right to ask teenagers to follow this tradition? The answer in modern countries and societies is no. Another example is that about 400 years ago nobody used or said about an alternative way of transport instead of using animals to the next generation but today we drive cars and use buses. This example shows why teenagers have to challenge the old ways and seek new methods and life values.

In summary, following the adults can save teenagers from many dangers and failures although they always have to ask why and challenge the old ways and values.