Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workforce. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

There is an opinion asserting that the university students must be provided with the qualifications required in the job market. Others believe that the main duty of universities is to give access to knowledge for its own benefits, not for the companies' needs. I, however, agree with the first view on the basis of some compelling reasons

To begin with, most people go to universities to finally get a good job. That is, spending so many years and much money on formal education, these students hope to find a suitable job when they compelete their education. If they have not already been trained for the requirments that employers seek, it would be a big conundrum for the graduates to be hired. Since being a university student is a time and energy consuming stage in life, many are incapable of putting effort in developing other skills which are needed by recruiters such as hands-on experience, copmuter knowledge, foreign languages, etc. A good illustration of that is the alumni who struggle for being hired being recruited for a prolong time, irrespective of their university degrees. Therefore, universities should shoulder the resposibility to educate students and improve their skills in afformenshened areas, not just theoretical science.

In addition, another justification is the fact that this could hugely affect gratuates’ income. It simply means that the more qualified and competant they are in the eyes of employers from the empoyers’ perspective, the higher chance they stand to get well-paid job opportunities to gain employment opportunities that are well-paying. Take those universities which offer additional courses relevant to today’s job market; their graduates are bound to increase their revenue compared to their counterparts who lack specific experience needed in the workforce.

In conclusion, I, for one, think that universities should not only focus on knowledge-based material in eduacation, but they also need to develop other skills required in the job market. Only in this way garduates have a chance to make a living.