Some people think that watching sport is wastage of time during leisure time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Sports, these days, are gaining popularity among people in many countries. While a few people believe that watching it, in free time, is a waste of time, others think in contrast. In my opinion, they are not a waste of time; therefore, I completely disagree with this viewpoint.

To begin with, one most evident reason is that people who watch games, they adopt it as physical activity. In other words, they start playing those sports which could be beneficial for their health. This is because numerous health diseases are prevalent among people due to lack of physical exercise. Yet watching sports on TV might act as a motivator for them. According to the recent survey, conducted by the guardian magazine, more than 80 per cent people watch sports because they want to play it in their real life and most of them start playing it later in their lives. In addition, it is also beneficial for those who are already acquainted to that game but can learn a few new techniques. Professional athletes in matches often invent new tricks, and learning it becomes very easy when audience see it, for example, in cricket, viewers usually observe spin and fast bowling to acquire skills of bowling splendidly.

Another imperative reason is that it helps in alleviating stresses of life. Life for some people is very stressful, and they find ways to release it somehow. Watching aid in diverting viewer’s attention from domestic problems or of work-related; therefore, many health experts generally recommend watching different types of games.

In summary, although some people think that seeing sport activity should not be a pastime, I believe that it has countless advantages, and it ought to be considered as a leisure activity as much as possible. This is due to the fact that it increases motivation to play and helps in learning new abilities, which are required for games with time. Moreover, mitigating anxiety is also a vital aspect of it.