Some people think that watching sports in one's free time is just a waste of time.

Different kinds of sports are enjoyed by sports lovers around the world and most people have their own favourite sports. Nowadays, watching sports has become one of the common leisure activities and many people spend hours sitting in front of a television. However, some people argue that it is a waste of time and they advise opting to outdoor activities instead. In my opinion, watching sports on television is not a waste of time but there should be a balance between the time spent on watching sports and taking part in other social and sports activities.

First of all, watching sports is an excellent form of entertainment and for many, this is even a passion. It is a pleasure and way of relaxation for many and in most of the cases, people watch sports with others, which is a great way of socialising. I believe that watching live sports on TV has become an event of socialising and communicating each other in many countries. However, spending hours after hours in front of a TV set to watch different sports and not doing anything is not recommended.

On the contrary, many people claim that watching sporting events on TV to kill one’s spare time is not a worthy activity as this time could be better utilised by taking part in other social activities and skill development programmes. People, who watch TV most of the time, become isolated and develop an unhealthy eating habit. Thus according to many, watching sports on TV has no significant benefits and participating in outdoor activities are much healthier and advantageous.

To conclude, we have to maintain a symmetry in our leisure activities; while enjoying sporting is a good way of relaxation and socialisation, too much of it can be harmful. We have to choose plenty of various free activities to foster a healthy lifestyle.