Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals.

Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

Animal sanctuaries or zoos are considered as a brutal place for wild animals and thus should be shut down, according to a few people, while others believe that it is the safest place for their survival. In my opinion, I believe zoos do not possess enough resource to take care of animals effectively but if they are developed more, it can be turned into a safe heaven for them.

There are some evidence which proves how heartlessly animals are treated in certain zoos. Moreover, no innocent, whether it is a human or animal, should be put behind the bars and therefore putting them in prison is a crime against the nature, which we often turn oblivious to. Due to insufficient fund, wildlife parks often suffer from scarcity of food and other resources, such as space and manpower, to maintain these places, which eventually leads towards mistreatment. For example, on average, only a $500 per park is sanctioned by authorities for the maintenance, according to the survey conducted by PETA. Thus, if zoos cannot be improved, it should be closed right away.

However, outside world is a threat to several endangered species whereas zoological parks are the safest place for them. Animals are slaughtered to fulfill growing demand of fancy clothes and shoes, which requires animal skin for its manufacturing. In other words, humans are the major danger to their existence. In addition, due to changes in environment over the time, many species are on the verge of extinction, which can be saved by putting them under special care in zoos. For example, Chinese Pandas are kept in special build zoo where they are protected under constant supervision. Thus, they are more protected inside the zoo than outside.

In conclusion, although animal parks are underfunded and animal are mistreated sometimes, it is the securest place for them. Hence, authorities should invest more in the development of proper parks for animal to preserve the diversity of nature.