Some people use the Internet to search for solutions to their medical problems. Is it a positive or negative development? Give your own opinion and examples from your experience.

Diagnosis and treatment of ailments have an ample importance these days. Some people thus opt for surfing online websites in order to find a proper treatment for their disorders. I believe this is a positive development due to the fact that it is cost-saving and convenient compared to conventional methods.

One reason which illustrates self-diagnosis using the internet is a positive trend can be identified as its inexpensiveness. By taking conventional methods, people have to visit a doctor and then pay a colossal amount of money to be treated. However, using free online information allow this sum to be saved. Statistics published by the California Medical Board, for instance, reveal that, on average, 92 percent of residents spend 2 thousand dollars annually on medical bills. This evidence highlights the financial benefit of using online sources of self-treating for the patient.

Another line of thought on searching online for finding a solution to diseases suggests its convenience. To visit medical clinics, the masses have to travel long distances; thereafter, wait for hours in waiting rooms to be examined by a physician, which is intolerable when they are affected by the ailment. If the search their symptoms online, however, all these inconveniences will be eliminated, allowing them to find a proper solution with a click of a button. A survey by the U.S government, for example, has shown that 85 percent of Americans are reluctant toward visiting clinics when they suffer minor health problems owing to the fact that they have to drive tens of miles to get to a clinic and spend a minimum of 4 hours in waiting to be examined. Instead, they prefer using reliable online health websites.

To recapitulate, this essay has demonstrated the trend of using online sources for treating diseases are both more economical and more convenient; therefore, I believe it is a positive development.