Some people use technology to take advice for their medical problems rather than seeing a doctor. Why this is so? Is it a positive or negative development according to you?

In the era of digitization, people often rely on technology for medical assistance instead of seeing an actual doctor or expert because of its easy accessibility. In my opinion, I believe that it is surely helpful to refer websites for common illness but certainly not advisable in case of serious sickness where implication could be quite severe.

There are several reasons behind this new trend. To begin with, not only online consultant is more convenient, because it can be access anywhere and anytime, but also offers an excellent value for money. Increasing number of experts’ blog on the internet, which provides elaborate details about sickness and its prevention, so people can easily refer and act according to the advises. Thus, many people avoid visiting a doctor rather they prefer to check information online.

Such development can certainly have upside but limited to particular common problems, Take for an example of cold and cough where it is quite convenient to refer a website then to see a doctor and put a burden on insurance. In this way, people can take precautionary actions before it may fall out of hand when they visit hospitals as precaution is better than cure. Thus, technology can be exploited to common health issues.

However, it is certainly not advisable in case of serious illness where implication of ignorance can be quite critical. Most of the information which is available at free of cost is generic that means it is irrelevant to a particular with specific disorder. Moreover, online consultant is completely unaware about the previous medical history or individual immune system, which makes following online prescription very dangerous. In short, reliance on technology can be a threat in case of deadly diseases.

In conclusion, reliance on technology is surely helpful in common problems but major illness always require proper investigation before treatment. Thus, instead of following blind steps, people should visit hospital and get thorough check up.