Some people want academic subjects such as history and physics to be taught at secondary school. Others want practical skills such as mechanical and gardening to be taught. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There always been a heated debate on choice of subjects that needs to be taught at secondary school level. One group is of the view that history and physics should be compulsory part of curriculum, whereas the other group asserts that mechanical and gardening sort of subjects should be taught. I shall discuss both perspectives in details before reaching a final verdict.

Predominantly, Subjects such as history and physics should be the essential owing to the significance and importance they hold from career building perspectives. By learning these theories, students would be able to choose a right path for themselves. For example by learning physics students can chose to become scientist, Doctors and can do Phd in any field pertaining to physics. Similarly, history learning would provide students the opportunity to become archaeologist.

On the contrary, some people are of the view that subjects such as mechanical and gardening should be taught at early age to in order to start practical life early. Undoubtedly, these learnings will enhance skilled labor expertise in students which will support them to initiate early earning. In this way they can start earning for their families even before finishing their studies. Globally, skilled labor is in demand and many country’s offer permanent residency on the basis of skilled expertise.

To recapitulate the aforementioned argument, there is no denial that any subject that is taught at secondary level is influential and provides long term benefits. Physics, mathematics or history subjects holds paramount value and at the same time importance of subjects like gardening and mechanical cannot be overlooked. However, in my opinion, subjects like physics of history leads to a successful leading career path, whereas by learning subjects like gardening or mechanical would earn us a blue collar job. Thus physics and history sort of subjects should be given more emphasis.