Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that ex-prisoner can become productive and responsible member of the society. While one segment argues that interaction of teenagers with such people should be promoted, another segment is not in agreement with the trend.

Law offenders had already experienced prison life and they are in better position to speak about how they became involved in crime, prison and criminal lifestyle. Teenagers are going to learn in great deal from their mistakes and more likely to accept advice from them. Reformed offenders can dispel any false ideas too, that the young group may have about criminals living a flamboyant and luxurious lifestyle. While adolescents may not pay enough attention to the guidance from older people, I imagine most of them will be keen to hear the stories of the ex-criminals. The vivid and perhaps shocking nature of the stories is likely to have a powerful impact.

On the other hand, people who oppose the trend argue that younger population might fancy becoming a gangster after knowing about the stories of prisoners and their lifestyle. Thus, better constructive and fundamental measures will be useful. For instance, one option that schools and colleges could invite the police to speak about consequences of breaking the law in the society which will be perceived as a learning. Another option, the teachers speaking to students about crimes and imparting necessary education. Finally, films can be informative and provides holistic view for improved vigilance and awareness.

In conclusion, it is a nice idea of having teens having conversation with people who have become a law abiding citizen after completing their sentence since it is going to deter them from committing crimes. However, one need to ensure that teens are informed about issues of breaking law by other means as well.