Some peoples believe that the housing should be provided by the government for underprivileged and people who can t afford to buy a house To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement Give examples based on your own experience

Many people argue that it is a responsibility of the government to provide houses to people who do not have enough funds to buy them. I do not agree with the statement, as the government is already burdened with many other social responsibilities, a better solution for this is the authority can help to lower the cost of housing facilities and make them more affordable.

The argument that the governing bodies are responsible for providing houses to its citizen do not seem a viable option. Already there is a lot of financial burden on the government like Healthcare, Education, Transportation and Defence. However, to own a home is really important for everyone, but making it a government's responsibility is not feasible.

There is a better alternative for this situation that can help to reach expected results. Government can make affordable houses by providing a piece of land at a lower cost to the builders. Affordability issues could be overcome by limiting the amenities as well. For instance, in Ahmedabad, the Municipal Corporation have built a number of houses with just few basic amenities, and such action has benefited a lot of people. So when a construction rate is cut down to half, many people will be able to buy their own house and they do not have to rely on anyone.

In conclusion, home is a basic necessity, but there are other more important issues as well where government fund are more necessary. So,instead of providing free homes, lowering the cost of housing facilities, can help people in the society to buy homes for themselves.