Some say that music, art and drama are as important as other school subjects, especially at the primary level.

Do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that art subjects should give the same priority at the primary school as other subjects. I completely agree with this statement because of these subjects improve creativity, and they make familiar children for the learning process.

Painting, music and drama help to improve the creative side of the children. This improves analytical and understanding skills. When children do colour mixing, they will able to know which colour will result after combining two colours such as, the red and green combination is yellow. This skill is useful to understand traditional subjects like math and science. For example, in Japanese schools, teachers teach only colour work at grade one because they found that children are talent painting will good at mathematics later on. Creativity is a skill which supports for the children to learn other subjects easily at the elementary level.

It is necessary to make familiar pupils to the school as they are new to the studies, and most of the kids prefer to stay at home with their parents which is the nature of the kids at the elementary level. When the teacher begins teaching with something interesting such as, music children will forget they are at the school, so they will come to the school regularly without hesitation. For example, a recent research study of British primary schools found that more than 80% of primary school pupils are willing to come to school due to piano classes. Therefore, art studies support to familiar young children to primary schools.

In conclusion, primary schools should teach art subjects as other traditional subjects because they develop the creative side of the children which makes easier to study other subjects. Another reason is that these sutudies help to make familiar kids for the school environment.