Some say that people living in high-rise apartments are lonely and unhappy, while others say that it’s advantageous to stay in high-rise apartments. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today’s world no one can argue that many houses, bungalows and other constructions are replaced by high-rise apartments in many cities. As the increase demand of new residential areas in a city, many modern condominiums have been built rapidly. Some people assert that living in an apartment can make a person feel lonely and have many drawbacks, while others say that there are many advantages. Both sides will be discussed carefully.

On the one hand, living in a high-rise apartment becomes a popular trend in modernized society. This is because, there are many good sides of staying in those buildings. Firstly, most high-rise apartments are located in the central part of a city which all surrounds with a variety of public transportation and businesses. With a better standard of life and effective transportation around, many condominiums attract lots of people to live there. Secondly, this type of accommodation also provides a high class of lifestyle by offering different facilities such as gyms, swimming pools, saunas or community clubs which can entertain all residents. Moreover, the cost of buying a condo is much cheaper and also more reasonable than getting a house in a metro area, thus many citizens are more likely to gravitate towards living in a modern condo without any hesitation these days.

On the other hand, there also are abundant drawbacks of staying in a condo. Firstly, the layout of every room is a similar idea and almost the same in the whole building which may not build for personal preference. Even though, some buildings allow owners to breakdown or renovate their places without any limitation, some apartments still have very strict regulations and do not allow demolishing the layout of room. Secondly, having a condo requires an expensive monthly maintenance which includes all expenses such as electric, hydro and cutting grass. However, some people argue that many condos over charge the maintenance fee. Moreover, many researchers have revealed that many high-rise apartment residents are more likely to develop depression and emotional problems than house residents.

In conclusion, both sides have very strong arguments. Personally, the merits of living in a condo are still much more than demerits. However, it depends on an individual because everyone has different preferences and perspective about choosing accommodation.