Some say that people living in high-rise apartments are lonely and unhappy, while others say that it’s advantageous to stay in high-rise apartments.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Increase in the urban population has promoted the trend of living in apartments. Life in these tall buildings is somewhat different from that in houses but it has its own advantages and disadvantages. I disagree with the concept that it increases loneliness and sadness. In the upcoming paragraphs I will be discussing pros and cons of living in residential buildings.

Life in apartments is dependent upon the occupants more than the building’s height. People have the opportunity to meet people from different vicinities and socialize on regular basis as they get to see each other a lot more and easily, like going up and down using elevators and escalators, you get a chance to know people living around you and befriend them. Mostly people living in the neighbor are also alone away from their families so they are more likely to welcome new people in their life. This provides with a possibility of increasing the social circle and learning about the values and norms, giving a chance to increase the knowledge and understand the differences in people from different areas.

Every picture has two sides. Discussing the drawbacks of apartment life, amongst the biggest concerns is privacy related. Movement of people coming and going to meet the residents make it a public place more than residential one. Large number of people belonging to different ethnicities and races brings in new diseases making residents exposed to the contaminated environment. Crowdedness and noise are also a factor of this lifestyle.

To sum up the discussion, the pros of living in apartment out way the cons. However, reforms could be made to increase the human interaction by organizing meetings and activities to involve the residents and giving them a platform to communicate. Huge apartment buildings are necessary for the ever increasing amount of people in city life to save land and to provide reasonable living to the public.