Some students take a year off between school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that a fraction of students prefer to take a year off from studies and spend this time in traveling or working. Although there are certain disadvantages associated with this trend yet the upsides overweigh the downsides in this case.

To begin, there are numerous drawbacks related to this trend. The most significant is that it distracts the pupil from the study. In other words, students could not be able to give their full attention on learning as they need additional to settle down and this eventually worse their productivity. According to a recent report, published in a newspaper, a ratio of 51% of students who took a year gap from educational institutions do not able to resume their academic career in an effective manner.

Nevertheless, the benefits of this thought are far more than drawbacks. First of all, it guides a learner that what course would be beneficial for his future. For instance, if a scholar while doing any work or traveling realizes the value of a specific course, such as during roaming various parts an individual came to know that becoming a guide is an outstanding opportunity rather than other trends. Hence, this way, this approach can assist a person to grab contemporary opportunities.

Another gigantic positive aspect is that missing a year from academic classes gives a chance to explore the world or to earn money to support the expenditures. An academic student’s wisdom reinforces while doing work on his own, during the break. Several lessons sharpen the mind of a pupil after these practical lessons. Apart from this, sometimes a person’s mind is tired from regular classes and a short stint away from these aides to regain the original status.

In conclusion, education is an integral part of one’s life and taking a year off from schools and universities are profitable, despite some negative aspects.