Some teachers tend to reward students with high academic results. Others, however, support and reward students that improved their grades. Discuss both approaches. Give your opinion and provide examples.

High academic performance is often viewed by teachers as more important,so they tend to reward those students who achieve high grades. However, other teachers encourage and reward those pupils who bring an improvement in their academic results.In my opinion, I consider that improvement in grades of children should be encouraged and appreciated.

On one hand, some teachers prefer rewarding students for their academic attainment and I agree with this approach.In other words, such high achievers serve as role models for other students and motivates others to excel in their studies which consequently produces better results. For example, students generally apply themselves and work harder when they are in direct competition with their classmates. Furthermore, being driven to achieve the best is vital in order to succeed later in life when, as adults, they must compete against others in the job market.

On the other hand, students showing improvement in grades are often appreciated by their teachers. As all students do not possess the same intellectual ability, giving more emphasis to improvement is a great idea to encourage them to achieve their goals step by step. Without this way of encouragement, less capable students will give up easily and not work hard due to the fear of failing to get maximum scores. Moreover, they are not burdened with the stress of scoring high marks in their exams.

In conclusion, while many people may vary in opinions, i think that students stand a better chance to succeed in school life if tough targets like high academic scores are set as a basis for rewards.