Some think the current generation should take steps to protect the environment for the next generation To what extent do you agree or disagree

Over the last decades concerns about the environment has raised among a steadily growing number of people. Especially for the youngest generation, phenomena like global warming, air pollution, deforestation are more than just alarming words. Many have been taking on the street to give voice to an ecosystem they feel in danger. I believe that is vital to take effective actions now to give the future generations a clean and prosperous planet. In this essay I will briefly describe what are the foremost threats for our planet and what the current generation can do to avoid further damage.

There is no doubt that human activity is to great extent responsible for climate change. Exhaust emission. traffic jams, urban sprawl, gentrification and deforestation are only a part of the drawbacks linked to industrialization. Carbon dioxide has been proven as one of key agents causing green house effect, which is responsible for global warming. More and more acres of rain forests are cut to make room for intensive farming that through a heavy use of pesticides and chemical fertilizers aims to boost yields. The deployment of those substances have also been linked to water pollution, a source of lethal diseases like polio, dysentery and cholera. In addition to those already devastating effects, many animal species are on the brink e of extinction. Wild animals like elephants, tigers, lions or rhinos are in the crosshairs of ruhtlessness poachers who make profits by selling ivory and fur.

Fortunately, young generations are not insensitive to the cry of nature and thousands have become more and more involved in demonstrations and protests that have the aim to raise awareness of the threats facing endangered species and the environment. At this point, with a population of roughly eight billion individuals who need food, water and energy, this planet is in no shape to shoulder the costs of further uncontrolled exploitation of natural resources. The current generation has thus the responsibility to do something to stop climate change and little actions like cutting down on plastic, packages and car usage can generate profound benefits for the environment.