Some think increasing business and cultural contact between nations is positive. Others think it leads to the disappearance of the national identity. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

Globalisation is growing due to the evolution of technology. While it is believed by some individuals that conducting international trade and exchanging cultural values are overwhelmingly positive, others assert that these may cause harm to the unique identification of a nation. There are strong arguements on both sides, which will be discussed now. I, however, side with the former view.

On the one hand, those who contend that the international exchange of trade and culture is negative for a country point out to the danger of the loss of the culture because international trends, such as wearing western clothes, drinking alcohol, and smoking cigarettes, may hold sway on the younger generations. They may eschew their own traditions with western ideologies. Besides, this may also have a detrimental impact on social values. Another downside is related to local businesses. When international corporations enter another country, they may cause native companies to go out of business since global giants are more powerful due to their extensive marketing strategies. For instance, when global food chains, such as McDonald’s and Burger King, was launched in Vietnam, many small family-owned restaurants were closed down due the craze of fast food culture. These reasons, therefore, are considered harmful for a nation.

On the other hand, people think international commercial relationship and culture spread are advantageous beacuse of the benefits accrued by them are by no means negligible. The key benefit is the growth of the economy. MNC’s supports a local economy by paying taxes to the government. Although these MNC’s may be a threat to the health of local companies, they create employment opportunities and forces local business to provide better quality of services so they sustain themselves in the marketplace. The second benefit is that it promotes cultural diversity. People can experience new culture and develop their understanding of the world. It seems that when people are exposed to a variety of culture, they become more tolerant of differences. The more a person gets to know about other countries, the greater the enhancement of his knowledge.

In conclusion, despite the fact that there are a few tradeoffs relating to an increase in international business and cultural contact, they are negligible in comparison to the benefits gained. In my opinion, maintaning strong international ties in form of trade and exchanging cultural norms is the way forward to nourish global peace and unity.