Nowadays, a lot of offices employ open-space designs instead of separate rooms for work. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is incredibly common for modern offices to have an open style sitting layout for their employees rather than the traditional style of private cubicals. Athough there are some drawbacks to open type of floor plan, in my opinion, the benefits accrued from it are more.

The main upside to open-space work stations is that they create a friendly work culture. Employees can personally interact with each other since there is less or no partition in between their tables. It leads to building stronger interpersonal relationships. Also, when staffs of all levels have similar type of working areas, it creates a sense of equality among the lower level workforce. For instance, companies like Google and Microsoft, are known for having happier staff due to their open office setup, where everyone gets along well. Thus, conspicous working performance can be reached when employees are content with their workplace.

Another significant benefit is related to cost. Companies can save huge amount of money by not building individual cubicals. Raw material for building walls, air-conditioning, and furniture are a few salient areas where company can cut down on cost if they have an open-layout plan. Moreover, open-area offices help to reduce wastage of electricity since they are usually operated on central heating and cooling system, which is effective in cost-saving rather than having singular units of air circulation.

However, there are a few drawbacks to open-space designs. Noise is one of the factor which may distract empoyees from working. Since there are less or no outer walls noise can easily travel from one employee to another.

Another issue is of privacy. Employees may feel they do not have enough private space to work.

In conclusion, despite the fact that there are negatives to not closed-space layout, such as distraction and privacy, they are negligible. The positives, namely, healthy working atmosphere and cost-saving, definitely overshadow the negatives.