Social media enable people to keep in touch with each other and learn about news events. Do advantages outweigh disadvantages

The pervasiveness of the internet and modern social media platforms allow people to communication with others and get news updates instantly. Although there are a few downsides to this development, I believe that the upsides are far more.

There are a myriad of advantages of social media. Firstly, communication with long-distance relatives or people have become relatively easy. This results in buliding stronger relationships since people can exchange news frequently and with an ease. For instance, during this panademic, enormous number of people were confined to their homes, and it was social media who came to their aid to communicate with outside world. Also, in case of any emergency, people can call for help using their phones. Furthermore, social media, such as Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram, help people to understand not only local news but also global news, which enables people with the knowledge of the current hapennings around the globe. Having the information of news from other far-off places seem to make people more tolerant of differences. Finally, professional social media apps, namely Zoom and Skype, have given people an opportunity to work from home. Remote working is especially paramount to mother’s with young children as they can look after their young ones as well as support family with dual-income.

Turning to the disadvantages of social media. The major minus point is reduced face-to-face interaction. People are eschewing meeting in-person to online conversations. This may impact interpersonal relationships, and also may cause people to isolate from the community. Another negative aspect is the constant pressure to answer calls. We have to always be available to respond to inward communications otherwise the caller may feel offended or disrespected. Finally, employee who are working from home may not be able to maintain work-life balance as employers will be able to contact them anytime. They may also face the same pressure mentioned earlier.

To conclude, despite the fact that social media pose some challenges, they can be overcome with proper planning and efforts. The benefits like convenience, becoming wordly wise and telecommuting, accrued from it are by no means negligible. In my opinion, it has brough more benefits than harm and hence advantages outweigh disadvantages.