There are different customs in different countries related to how people eat, dress, and so on. Some think that people visiting a country should behave according to customs of the country they visit.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Cultural diversity is an indispensible factor prevailing in all nations of globe. Therefore, it is asserted by some people that tourist’s should follow local customs, such as eating habits and dressing while they travel to a country. I, however, partially agree with this statement for some compelling reasons.

To begin with, while the general citizenry are familiar with the local food culture, foreigners may not be acquainted with them. They would order dishes they are familiar with or can eat. For instance, although a country may be famous for fried chicken or muttun burger, if the traveller is a vegan, he wants to consume only vegetarian dishes. Thus, he cannot be forced to eat non-vegetarian food since his food preference strictly being meat-free. Secondly, tourists are comfortable in wearing their nation’s clothes. When someone goes to travel they pack clothes that are produced in their own country. If people are restricted to wearing local clothes, they will have to spend money to buy them that may or may not be useful to them back home. Obviously, in this case also, we cannot force visitors to completely change their attire to match with local dressing ways. Thus, when visiting a tourist place there should not be any restrictions based nation’s customs, such as food and clothing.

However, in my opinion, holiday-goers must follow the local rules and regulation when visit religious places like temples and shrines. Local people are incredibly sensitive towards their religion. For example, in India, when you visit any gurudwara, it is compulsory for everyone, be it man or woman, to cover their heads with a peice of cloth. If someone disobey or disrespect religion, it not only offends local citizens but also potrays a negative image of foreigners’ in their minds.

To conclude, despite the fact that various countries have disparate cultural aspects like food and clothes, international travellers should have the freedom to eat as well as dress as per their choice, while roaming in tourist areas. Nonetheless, when visiting religious places, foreigners ought to follow the customs akin to the local ideologies.