Some people believe that it is a good idea that older people continue to work if it is possible for them to do.

Do you agree or disagree?

Many are increasingly of the belief that people should continue working beyond the recommended age of retirement. I concur with this sentiment generally, although others may have some compelling reasons to oppose this.

The benefits accruing from working even after the retirement age are by no means negligible. Firstly, we are enterning a greying society. It has been estimated by end of 2050, a significant percentage of world’s population will comprise of aged people. It will be a waste of human resource, if elderly are not allowed to work. Besides this, they have invaluable experience and expertise which will play an indispensable role in training the younger generations. Secondly, the government can receive taxes from them and save on pension. In other words, when old people are working, they will continue to pay taxes to the government. Tax-payers money can be used to invest in areas requiring improvement. In addition, government will have to pay pension for shorter period of time since old people will retire after extended duration.

However, others put forward convincing arguments against elderly’s employment. The most axiomatic agrument is concerned with the employment opportunities of young people. If old people do not retirement from jobs, there will not be enough vacancies for youngsters. Thus, government will have to take measures to ameliorate the young unemployment rate. Furthermore, old people have already done their part to support society. Now at this vunerable age, they should relax and enjoy the remaining years left. By making old people work will not only add stress and strain to their life but will also make their health deteriorate faster. Therefore, the more old people stay away from workload, the more cheerful their greying life will be.

In conclusion, despite the fact that some people contest the working of old people, in my opinion, it is advantageous if they continue to work. Advantages such as a proper usuage of man-power and an increase in taxes outweight the disadvantages like concern for youth employment as well as health of older people.