Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, distance education is in trend due to numerous advantages. I firmly believe that this a positive development for society and individuals.

To begin with, online education enables working professionals to pursue their further study along with their job. There are many individuals who want to continue their higher study but due to financial constraint, they can not leave their job. Individuals can watch online video lectures anytime and submit the assignments before the deadline by using the internet. In this way, a person can earn a new degree without resigning a job. For instance, a website ww.edx.com is quite popular for the online course. Universities from all over the world collaborated with the firm EDX, an online course provider, to spread the education at a mass level for everyone.

In addition to this, people from underdeveloped and deloping countries can study from the world leading tertiary institutes at free of cost. As we know, there are many nations where an inadequate number of universities available for higher study. But, with the help of these online courses students can learn from world pioneer institutes and avail world class quality education without going to other nation. In a recent Google survey, it is found that forty per cent more people joined the online courses this year in comparison to last year.

To conclude, it is irrefutable that these online courses are beneficial for people who are not able to join a regular classroom program due to any reason. I hope, education will be available to everyone because of these online courses.