Many elderly people are no long looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

It is increasingly common for families to put their parents in care homes or nursing homes, rather than take care them at homes. This trend provides old people with advanced facilities at nursing homes, but there are drawbacks to be taken into account.

On the one hand, the main benefit of elderly people are being sent in nursing homes is that most of the care homes are well equipped and full of modern facilities that are much demanded or needed by senior citizens. In other words, vast majority of aged people suffer from mobility issues such as osteoarthritis or varicose veins. Exacerbation of these deterrents could be prevented by installing a elevator or a stair-lift, which could otherwise be unable to be protected at homes.

On the other hand, one problem when families put their older family members in care homes is that those geriatrics are not allowed to often meet their loved ones and suffer from loneliness. Care homes are most of the times surrounded with illnesses and death, so from this types of situations, geriatrics tend to be affected. As a result, curtailed happiness or sever depression could be experienced. This had not be the case, if families would have looked after them at their homes.

In conclusion, while living in nursing might be beneficial for elderly people, it can also lead the drawbacks of loneliness and it’s concomitant depression.