Students perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Individuals respond differently to every situation. Thus, pupils sometimes give positive results receiving reinforcement, whereas for others, punishment is the best tool to learn.

To large extent, I concur with the given notion and the reasons will be explicited below.

To commence, the first and foremost reason behind this tendency is lust for learning somthing. Schools and parents award them in returns of their outstanding performance in academics as well as co-curricular activities. Consequently,they work more enthusiasticly and with positive energy, which results in success in every field. Additionally,certain children do not work appropriately, when they are scolded and forced to learn new knowledge. Oppositly, giving punishment might result in negative consequences likeas stubborness and behavioural problems. As physical punishment is completely banned in these days.

Probing further, young children are very sensitive towards the things, specially the way they are treated. So, they should be treated very politely so that would not face any kind of trauma, which might become hindrance in their acaddmic progress and physical growth as well. A recent survey inferred that the schoolchildren who were given positive feedback, were able to secure higher grades in examination than those who were punitive.

On the flip side, in few cases, it becomes mandatory to panalize children, when they are not bringing deasirable results inspite of having all the ammenities available.They use to make lame excuses for not executing their school work or other activities. Therefore, in such conditions, parents should give small punishments like limited time for watching television and restricting favourite activities. Moreover, by doing so they can realise their mistakes and do not tend to repeat.

Conclusively, retributing disciples and allocating awards has both efficacious and precarious sides and depends upon the situation and type of student what suits the best.