Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Be it playing or simply watching, sports is a large part of everyone’s lives and in some countries like India the players are worshiped like gods. Such conditions lead to well-renowned players garnering extensive amount of income compared to other professional which has been seen as an unfair situation by some people. In this essay, I will elaborate on both these views, even though I am of the opinion that this disparity is not justified.

In countries like England, few sports are highly viewed and their players gain popularity provided they are successfully raising up the ranks. This fandom means they are always under the eye of their fans and various brands find this as an excellent way to display their products. Uber a brand which is not related to sports, for instance, has on-boarded the Indian cricket team’s captain as its brand ambassador resulting into higher usage from his fanbase for the company’s products. Moreover, these professionals put in such a great show at the matches with their outstanding performance, that they are paid a hefty pay cheque just to keep them on the team.

Although these sportsmen have millions of viewers who buy tickets and spend on related merchandise, I believe that it cannot justify them getting more importance and higher salaries compared to jobs such as doctors, firemen or solders. The men and women working in these sectors, risk themselves on regular basis to help save the lives of others. A good example of this is the healthcare workers in the pandemic, who are working long hours with high threat to their personal safety. During a challenging time, we have seen that such professionals become the lifeline of the country’s wellbeing, but they are still under appreciated when compared to cricket or tennis players.

In conclusion, the people who should be awarded with greater admiration and higher salaries are getting neglected in front other athletes. This in my opinion is quite disheartening and I believe it is time we individually start giving a more importance and visibility to other professionals which will help them receive an equal or higher pay in the future.