There are many things that can motivate people to perform well in their work. These can include the salary, job satisfaction or the chance to help others. What do you feel is the best motivation to do well at work?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

It is estimated that ninety percent of the world's population is depended on jobs for earning their bread. With the new startups and business ideas coming up, the opportunities for the people to get better jobs as per their choice has increased. However, finding a right job is also challenging these days. Some people admire better paying jobs while few look for job satisfaction; there can be various means through which employers can get their employees motivated for working harder and putting more efforts.

Many job seekers consider salary as their fundamental criteria while applying for the job. Making more money or getting paid more than the previously drawn salary always intrigues the candidate. Other than that, the employee always seek for the promotion with the more capital gain than the subsequent year. That is the reason many of them perform their best and showcase extraordinary skills so that they get paid well in the upcoming year. For example, every year in many companies provides a salary hike to the employees based on the previous year performance assessment.

Furthermore, the people who do not consider money as their primary criterion, look for job satisfaction. Research shows that the employees who were satisfied with their work were able to showcase outstanding results. For example, during Covid-19 situation, many of the employees were working from home and also had to face the salary cut-down. When Facebook generated a survey, they found the pay-cut did not demoralise them; on the other hand, they were performing increased as they were getting more time to spend with their family.

In my opinion, work satisfaction is of essential criteria, as one works for one-third of his daily schedule, if the person does not get mental peace at his professional life, it can also affect his personal life. Nevertheless, salary should also be paid as per market standard; moreover, there should be perks and benefits for competing performance in the company.