There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is ongoing debate that some physical subjects like sports and cooking should be substitute from academic syllabus as it is a strain on student's academic performance. While there are positive and negative implications of removing physical education and cookery classes, I disagree with the notion that balance between practical and theoretical knowledge is vital for children.

To begin with, removing academic subjects, which are not part of curriculum, is great way to concentrate on academic syllabus. To explain, if students only focus on theoretical subjects, they would have a less burden as they would not have extra curricular activities. Moreover, there are a number of subjects in particular grade which would put students in to dilemma, which make them to worry during school time as well as at home. Consequently, this thinking behaviour will lead them to health and mental disorders such as depression and anxiety. In many Asian countries, parents have seen the children falling into stress of academic pressure when children have sports, music and cooking classes at same time.

Conversely, with the theoretical subjects, it is also important the physical growth of children. Thus, providing physical lessons like dance, sports, and music will enhance the cognitive abilities and physical strength of children. For example, many parents allow their children to select extra activities beside education in Western and European countries, which eventually helped students in academic performance. Moreover, this outside syllabus training will also help children who are not performing well in academic assessment, resulting into pursue the professional career in these recreational activities.

In conclusion, to reiterate that adding extra supplements in school put a lot of strain on children's performance, being anxious and worried during school time. However, in my opinion, if both parents and teachers help children arranging subjects well with non-academic subjects, undoubtedly this balance would enable better efficiency in academic success.