These day's more fathers stay at home and take care of their children while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this ?

Do you think it is a positive or a negatives development ?

In this modern society, there is a tendency that fathers only spend time at home taking care of children while their wives become the bread winner for a whole family. As I considered, this trend possesses more benefits than disadvantages. In this essay, some reasons and discussions about the advantages would be given.

Firstly, there are several reasons explain for the change of traditional role of breadwinner father and stay-at-home mother in society. While supporting gender-equality in society becomes more popular, more women are encouraged to join the workforce by government policies such as maternity leaves, shorter working hours. Therefore the fact that males stay at home and take care of their family should be respected and not be judged. Secondly, both men and women are deserved to choose a future career according to their abilities and experiences. Admittedly, many females are considered as possessing more qualifications and opportunities to access higher positions and earn decent salaries. Hence, the father should stay at home and support children’s bringing if the mother’s income is adequate for living expenditure.

In my personal view, the father’s contribution to the family has similar effectiveness as the mother’s role. First of all, males also have responsibility and ability in bringing up their children and taking care of their family. This is obviously beneficial when fathers not only support their wives in housework, but they can also be close with their children and deal with problems that are too strenuous for women. Secondly, males give more freedom to children's development and nurture their ability as the most comfortable and natural approach which can help children become more confident in social skills. For example, in many Asian countries, mothers tend to force their children to attend academic classes while fathers encourage their children to join a sports club or play musical instruments.

Taking everything into consideration, the tendency that males have the main role at home should not be an embarrassment because it not only benefits the family but also contributes to social development.