These days many children spend a lot of their time playing computer games but little time doing sports? Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In this contemporary era, digitization has had a severe impact, especially on children. Most of the adolescents spend their major time by indulging in electronic games, instead of taking part in outdoor sports. An increase in technology and urbanization are the major cause of this trend. In my viewpoint, it has adverse effects on children, as it can affect mental and physical growth of children.

To embark with, one of the main cause of indulging in electric games by offspring is the emergence of technology. Gaming companies are offering sensational gaming experience that can be enjoyed from the comfort of couch. Thus, motivating children to avoid outdoor sports. For instance, every year Sony launches an advanced version of the game FIFA that offer realtime football experience for the young generation. Furthermore, with rapid increase in the urbanization, most of the area are transformed into building, leaving no space for children to indulge in outdoor sports. Therefore, juniors have not enough space to enjoy outdoor games such as football and cricket. To illustrate this, in a recent survey by local NGO, the majority of newly constructed housing complexes in Mumbai do not have sufficient playing areas, thereby, leading into little percentage of children involved in outdoor sports.

This trend of restricting junior to computer games is giving rise to the generation of sloths, with hindered development. A lethargic body will promote health issues at a young age and that will strain our future generation. For instance, studies have established a clear relationship that a sedentary lifestyle leads to obesity in children. Additionally, discouraging group sports will transform young ones into introverts who lack adequate communication skills and team management skills.

To conclude, according to my point of view, the main cause of indulging in computer games are unavailability of outdoor playing facilities and the advancement in the gaming world. No doubt, by allowing the young child to avoid outdoor sport, we are encouraging a slogged future generation, with hindered physical and social skills.