These days , in many countries fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools

What are the reasons for this, how could the problem be solved

The decreased popularity of teaching profession is an area of increasing concern in the society. Insufficient financial incentives, as well as the job market saturation, are few among various factors that trigger this decline. There are some policies which could be implemented to promote the professional teaching again in the community.

Unfortunate as it may seem, we currently live in a world enveloped with the absolute materialism. Even though working as a lecturer can earn heaps of respect and recognition, but low income, people prefer to opt for the jobs which give them sufficient financial stability. Therefore, the sacred employment has lost its glory in the furious race of money-oriented minds. Another principal reason for not choosing the teaching as a career is the availability of less job opportunities. The invasion of technology in the education sector has completely changed the conventional ways of teaching, the automation reduced the demand of employees in the respective sector. Hence, the potential candidates are deciding to try their luck elsewhere rather than struggling to find an employment as a professor.

There is almost certainly no one solution to this problem given the complexity of its causes. However, one option must be to improve the salary packages, flexible retirement plans and other monetary help programs for the teachers to attract more talent by promising them to address their financial problems. It would also be possible to limit the involvement of technology in educational institute to mitigate its harmful impact on the availability of jobs. A successful example of this the Institute of Engineering and Technology, Denmark, where the students are required to complete their assignments and all the educational tasks by using the conventional paper based material.

In conclusion, the teaching as a profession has undoubtedly lost its fame because of inadequate financial support and the scarcity of the employment chances. The situation can be treated by providing adequate economical support and alleviate the reasons of job-cuts in the education department.