Today different types of robots are being developed which can serve as friends, help at work and at home. Is this a positive or negative development?

The modern world is significantly changed in comparison with the past, especially cutting-edge technologies such as robotics has made an enormous step ahead. In my opinion, it is inevitable change; however, it has advantages as well as disadvantages for humankind. In this essay, I will consider both sides of this development.

From one side, robots can be significantly helpful in doing time-consuming and physically demanding jobs including industrial tasks in a dangerous environment and household choirs. It is understood that robots are more efficient, work longer hours without any rest and produce higher quality products. As a result, people have an opportunity to save some time for themselves and use it for other more enjoyable tasks, such as inventing something new at their work or spending quality time with children and spouses at home.

However, using social robots can be risky, especially if children are interacting with them. First, these kinds of robots are addictive and give an illusion of companionship without having a real relationship. Thus, interacting with these empathy machines may get in the way of children’s ability to develop a capacity for empathy themselves. In addition, having a robot instead of real friends may increase a person’s feelings of loneliness and isolation as humans need to communicate and bond with humans.

In conclusion, I believe that the development of robotics is our future. However, having considered the consequences of this trend I consider that these technologies are useful in terms of help in a house and working environment. Meanwhile, usage of them as friends can be harmful to a child’s development intensify a person’s feelings of abandonment and loneliness.