Tourism is encouraged in many countries. Does tourism bring more advantages of disadvantages to a country?

Many countries around the world encourage tourism and travelling visitors. This essay will explore the merits of tourism and discuss a demerit that comes with it.

On the one hand, tourism has been a major tool for economic boost in several countries. As travelling visitors are allowed into a country, majority come in with a lot of money and are most of the time excited about exploring the country which would result in economic growth. For instance, when visitors are allowed entry into a nation, they will quite often spend a lot of money- sometimes in local restaurants trying out new cuisines and in local businesses purchasing souvenirs from the the host country. Also, tourism exposes people to learning and understanding different cultures and practices. As people from other nations travel into countries they are alien to, they tend to pay attention to the behavior of the people living there and also try to imbibe best practices that can be taken back to their home countries. Take for instance some Nigerian chefs that visited china and were able to learn how to prepare some Chinese food and the use chopsticks. They took the knowledge back to their home country and improved upon their food business.

On the other hand, tourism may open up a nation for enemy invasion. As a demerit of tourism, enemy nations could send their spies into a community under the guise of tourism meanwhile they have ulterior motives and this exposes the people to harm. For example, armed bandits can enter into other countries as tourists and wreck havoc without been noticed because they were allowed in following due process as tourists.

In conclusion, although tourism has a demerit of allowing adversary attack, the merits far outweighs that as it brings about economic growth and a better understanding of different cultural practices. Hence, tourism should be encouraged.