Travel is most enjoyable when you are in a group conducted by a tour guide.

Do you agree or disagree?

Travel - either to known places or unknown lands can always be adventurous, inspiring and experience gaining in life. The question is, is it better to travel single or in a group conducted by a guide?

To elaborate, first of all, while some advocate that group tours are the best as they can be budget friendly, fun-filled and safe; I am of the view that such trips can steal one’s privacy. For instance, a part of my Euro Tour in 2009 with a group of 15 odd people was quite nerve breaking. We were in a group, there was great socialization and we were safe; however, it was different people, different mindsets and one destination! At the end of the journey, all of us wanted some peace and quiet. Hence, group travel can be quite taxing on the mind and can defeat the purpose of pleasure.

Secondly, group tours always take tourists along a beaten path where escorts only show oft-visited places like parks, palaces, museums, monuments and the like. A different or an unexplored destination is always overlooked. To drive home this point, in a group, the minority suffers. To quote from the same tour, even though we visited France, I could not get to the Louvre Museum since all my co-travellers wanted to be at Disneyland. I felt very disappointed because my choice had been vetoed. Thus, often, individual choices are overlooked while travelling in a conducted tour.

In conclusion, although there may be great advantages like economy, safety and fun while travelling in a group escorted under able guidance; according to me, the disadvantages far outweigh the merits since people like me prefer to cherish privacy, independence and freedom. Therefore, I find such mass travelling very boisterous, chaotic and unexciting.