In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there.

What is your opinion about this?

A majority of the population wants to settle down in the cities today. However, the population has increased so rapidly in the city that it has led to the crunch of construction places. This essay will discuss the views about settling down in the city versus countryside.

In the last couple of decades, people have migrated to metro cities in a large scale. One of the major reasons for this was the abundance of opportunities in cities that so many people have transferred from smaller cities to the bigger, more developed ones. The migration is trending in such a way that the builders are now moving on to the outskirts to build apartments and residences to accommodate so many people. The areas that were barren once have now become fully residential with all the facilities that the metros provide.

Even though it seems essential that the un-used space in the country be utilized, one can foresee many disadvantages in the long-run. Firstly, the building construction is expanding day-by-day leading to cutting of trees and plants. This, consequently, impacts the environment and the weather. As an illustration, Bangalore was once called the City of Greens and it was able to maintain a pleasant weather the whole year, until a majority of the population migrated here and started deforestation in order to build their houses. Secondly, the agriculture in the village area will be badly hampered and eventually affect the crops, vegetation and farmers. Lastly, as the human population increases, the villages will be polluted all the time because of the automobiles, construction activities, waste from industries etc.

Therefore, in order to save our environment, people should avoid migrating to the countryside for their selfish reasons and be considerate to the Mother Nature. In my opinion, I strongly recommend dwelling in the cities and prevent our villages from the daily-hassles of the metropolitan atmosphere.