Which way do you prefer to spend time: with a small number of close friends or with many friends?

Compare these two views.

Having friends is a part of socialization and they can be the most treasured people on this earth. In this context, it is often claimed that the more number of friends you have, the better it is. But I have my own reservations here.

To elaborate, those who oppose my viewpoint may feel that having few friends could be dull and that such kind of friendship may eventually turn out to be boring, monotonous and cheerless; but I look at it the other way. For instance, my friend Reena is always surrounded by a large number of friends who seem to be always gregarious, adventurous and boisterous. However, the seamy side to this façade is that she is always seen spending time on her cell phone, either planning to meet up somewhere or pacifying or clearing misunderstandings with someone or the other. Making up and breaking up are aplenty in her life. When I witness such happenings, I feel blessed to have only a handful of like-minded companions with who I can really have pleasant and cherished moments.

So, having fewer friends has many advantages. Firstly, I suffer lesser tensions and headaches. For example, we are a group of five and we have been close buddies since our school days, unlike my friend who has a lot of friends, but none who may be called “friends forever”. Secondly, our friendship has grown over the years through a lot of trust, warmth and mutual respect for one another. And lastly, there is always one voice when it comes to taking any decision and we have hardly any feelings of insecurity among us. In fact, there’s never a dull moment when all of us catch up with one another and many of my other friends and acquaintances envy our relationship.

To conclude, although a gang of friends may look envious, it is definitely the quality of friendship that goes into it that makes up the best of one’s life. Therefore, I prefer to win a few hearts rather than be popular.