Nowadays many parents believe that children’s use of tablets or computers would be good for their future academic careers. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a belief? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples.

In recent years, the usage of tablets and computers have increased rapidly. This has become a trend more than a necessity. This essay chalks out the pros and cons of children using tablets or computers for their academic careers.

Internet is such a powerful resource today that it provides any information we need. There are a number of benefits when it comes to children using a Tablet or a Computer. Firstly, children in schools are able to complete their project assignments if they have access to Internet through these electronics. Secondly, students can download different mobile apps that help them in understanding their academic subjects better. Lastly, there are a number of resources available to bring awareness about children’s career options that they can research and choose from.

Whilst the use of these electronic items is advantageous, it is often found that the children misuse the usage if not kept under proper supervision. When left unattended with such gadgets, children may try to access A-rated movies/websites. They may also be found learning about alcohol and drugs usage at a very early stage when they don’t understand what is good and bad for them. Children may take the wrong path and involve themselves in such illegal activities soon before their parents realize what caused it. Lastly, they may also get addicted to tablets and may use it to an extent where they stop all the physical activities and prefer being indoors.

Therefore, children need to be explained the importance of using gadgets so its usage is never exploited. Parents need to be aware of what their children are working on and may need to put appropriate parental locks in case they find weird activities before handing over these gadgets to their kids.