Television has had a significant influence on the culture of many societies. To
what extent would you say that television has positively or negatively affected the
cultural development of your society?
It has been around forty years since television was first introduced into Australian
households and people today still have mixed views on whether it has a positive or a
negative influence on the society.
Many people believe that television damages culture. It promotes the stronger cultures of
countries such as Britain and North America and weakens the cultures of less wealthy
countries. This is because the stronger, wealthier countries are able to assert their own
culture by producing more programs that are shown widely around the world. These
programs then influence people, particularly young people, in the countries where they
are shown.
Also, because television networks need to attract large audiences to secure their financial
survival, they must produce programs which are interesting to a broad range of people. In
Australia this range is very broad because we are a multicultural society and people of all
ages like to watch television. To interest all these different people, most television
programs are short in length, full of action and excitement, do not require much
intelligence or knowledge to understand, and follow universal themes common to all
cultures, such as love and crime. Television programs which concentrate on or develop
themes pertinent to one particular culture are not so successful because they interest a
smaller audience.
Nevertheless we much acknowledge that television does have some positive effects on
the cultures within a society as well. People who do not live within their own culture can,
in a limited way, access it through the multicultural station on the television. For example,
Aboriginal children who have grown up in white families, or migrants and international
students living in Australia, can watch programs from their own culture on the television.
In conclusion, I hold the view that television promotes and strengthens those cultures that
are wealthy and influential while it weakens the cultures that are already in a weakened
position.