We often hear that new technology presents a threat to our traditions. In what ways, however, can new technology help maintain our traditions.

It frequently comes to notice that due to technology, many traditions are in danger. But technology is also proved enormously beneficial in terms of keeping our traditions alive. This essay intends to discuss two main techniques, Storing books, pictures and by video recording, of technology to keep our cultures live.

Old books and images, which are considered as the pillar of any tradition, can be stored in the computer. In order to store big sized books, huge physical space is required. Thanks to technology, which made it possible to store these books in very small sized hard disk. Paintings of ancient times are more prone to be torn, these paintings can be scanned and preserved. These stored files will be available for life time and can be used to demonstrate culture to forthcoming generation. Thus worry of keeping books in a spacious place is diminished.

For spreading awareness about a particular culture, videography proved very fruitful. Extinction of cultures and traditions is a matter of great concern in which variety of cultures are considered to lose their existence. Video recordings can be made for the sake of maintaining culture for forever. Making these videos available on Youtube, a popular application for watching videos, for everyone, can serve the purpose of enlightening people about culture and tradition. By this, individuals can also get acquainted with all the cultures, and people from same culture, who are residing overseas, can learn about their own cultural values and tradition.

In conclusion, it could be reiterated that with the help of technology, traditions can be preserved in the form of images, pdf files and video graphy and people from far flung areas can access this material.